Skip to content

Some Post Processing Thoughts.

February 5, 2010

 

 

Before. and. After.

For Fen  and Amasou-Umasou ,

I’m not a Photoshop expert but I do have a few tricks on hand which I have learnt from websites or books over time.  I’ve taken some time to briefly explain how do I get the rusty soft vintage effect. 

 

 

1. Create a Copy of your JPEG File. 

Before you start editing your photo, always remember to create a copy of it. I’m sure most people will be familiar with this. If not, do give me a shout. 🙂

 

2. Increase the Brightness/Saturation by +20 (If you want, you can always increase the number)

 

3. Adjust the Red/Blue/Green Colour Curves.

  

To do that, click on “Create New Fill or Adjustment Layer” and Curves.

Select the Red Curve and you can try adjusting as follows;

 

Now,  The Green Curve.

 

And Finally, The Blue one.

 

 

4.  Go to Saturation, Tick on Colorize

and Adjust the Hue (+47) as indicated

and Adjust the Opacity to your choice (I Adjusted it to 27%);

 

 

 

5. Add a Red Colour Fill

 

To do that, click on “Create New Fill or Adjustment Layer” and Solid Colour and Choose Red.

Adjust the Opacity (5-20%) .

 

6. Add Vignette

Click on your original File > Filter > Convert for Smart Filters > Distort > Lens Correction

Adjust Vignette to -100.

 

 

And Voila!

 

 

 Examples of Photos i edited for the above;

Quarry

Gage Street, HK

Hotel Jen, HK

Strolls.

Do Play around with it and you can edit it to your liking. This is just a general guideline to what i do sometimes. 🙂

Hope it helps. 🙂

TGIF!!

And Happy Weekends!

The Motto for the CNY Week (Quoted from Charles : Feast first, Worry Later! )

 

 P/S : The Eggs photo is probably not the best photo to shout the post-processing effect but i used it just for illustration purposes.

Thanks to Angeline. I’ve found the original article that helps in my vintage style photos.

 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2010 13:21

    Wow, thanks for this detailed tutorial. Really appreciate the efforts in putting up all these.

    Hope to show you some work of acceptable standard soon. 🙂

  2. February 5, 2010 19:40

    This is really helpful! I learn something new today yay =)

    • Reiz permalink*
      February 7, 2010 21:30

      You’ve updated your wordpress avatar! 🙂 Nice!

  3. February 5, 2010 20:28

    looks pretty complicated for a non-photoshop user like me, but I’m bookmarking this page! it has definitely got me inspired to learn photoshop 😀 wonderful pics!

  4. February 5, 2010 21:27

    Thanks for the post.

    For me, I used blending mode for most of my post-processing. I always have problem with curves as it tends to make the picture look “flat”. As for saturation, I usually won’t go beyond 10. So in a way, the tips you have given me is completely different from what I usually do.

    Will it give it shot, thank you for the tutorial.

    • Reiz permalink*
      February 7, 2010 21:31

      Yeah. I guess along the way, we always pick up some tips here and there from people and articles. I tend to play quite a fair bit of it, till i’m satisfied so i guess keep trying till you’ve found the effect that you want. 🙂

  5. February 5, 2010 22:34

    wow. amazing! Will give it a shot soon! 🙂

    • Reiz permalink*
      February 7, 2010 21:32

      🙂 And thanks for the article! That was the one that i read!!! It sure does create difference for some pictures.

  6. February 8, 2010 10:02

    haha. But luckily I still can create such effect with Photoscape. I know some people who do not have photoshop can use this instead! I’ll have to practice more to get the effect i want! 😀

    • Reiz permalink*
      February 9, 2010 15:47

      yesh! Photoscape is an amazing free software! i use it when i’m lazy or just doing quick adjustment!

  7. February 18, 2010 22:33

    Recently started reading your blog and I love the vintage look of your photos. Thanks for sharing!

  8. April 5, 2010 13:27

    I’m a fan of Vintage effect…will try your tips…Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

